Hair

I had an Assertiveness Fail the other day (Forgot to take the skill back at Level 15, I think). I took the Boy to have a very necessary hair cut at a Salon-Which-Shall-Be-Nameless near Gran’s house. We were asked on the phone whether we had a favourite hairdresser, but as we’d only taken him there once before and had neglected to commit the name of the lady to memory we just said we’d be happy with anyone.

So that is who we got.

The hairdresser in question was very lovely but did not seem very confident or competent. She would ask me questions about my wishes, and when I explained them (very apologetically of course – like I said, assertiveness is not my top skill), she would tell me why she couldn’t do that.

Cutting his hair short around his ear? “When they’re this little you don’t want to cut too close to their head, or you might hurt them.”

Inner-Judith said: “Oh really? Then why has every other hairdresser who has cut his hair before managed it??

In reality I said: “Hm.”

When I wasn’t sure if I wanted his fringe “straight” (it sounded a bit severe), the only other option she suggested was cutting it at a fashionable slant to one side.

Inner-Judith said: “That sounds ridiculous. I am sure there must be more options than just those two.”

In reality I said: “Erm, cut it straight then.”

I was right. It did look a bit severe.

new haircut

When she thought she was done, the fringe still skimmed his eyebrows. I asked if she could take a bit more off, just to give me more time between hair cuts. “I’ll cut it a little bit shorter, but you don’t want to take too much off, or you might accidentally cut the child” she warned once more.

Inner-Judith said: “What the hell kind of incompetent hairdresser are you??”

In reality I said: “Okay.”

I think she could hear faint echoes of Inner-Judith’s raging, because she asked me about five more times if I was sure I was happy. To be honest, I had no faith that she could do a better job than she had done, so I just paid the money and got the hell out. But not before asking her name and committing it to memory, so that I could specify that I wanted someone else next time.

And The Girl? She won’t be having a haircut for quite some time. I am far too delighted with her new little girl hair, which seems to grow an extra centimetre every night.

Here is a little overview of her lovely hair and the hair styles I have been trying out on her – most of which last about five minutes until she has worked out how to undo/remove them.

Unadorned, it seems to grow naturally in quite a charming bob

Unadorned, it seems to grow naturally in quite a charming bob

Her first ever hair clip was almost too cute to be allowed

Her first ever hair clip was almost too cute to be allowed

She usually keeps them in for about five minutes before pulling them out and starting to chew on them (DANGER!)

She usually keeps them in for about five minutes before pulling them out and starting to chew on them (DANGER!)

First bunches. These lasted about ten minutes.

First bunches. These lasted about ten minutes.

Exclamation mark hair. This one took her about an hour to undo.

Exclamation mark hair. This one took her about an hour to undo.

But her favourite so far has been this hairband, which she stole/borrowed from her best friend

But her favourite so far has been this hairband, which she stole/borrowed from her best friend. This one I had to remove myself because she was going to wear it FOREVER

 

Putting clips and things in the Girl’s hair has made me face up to the fact that she is a proper toddler now and no longer a baby. You look at her with her hair in bunches and there she is: vivacious, mischievous, full of life and joy and determination. There is something about these new hair styles that makes them real little people. I have always loved the new Boy after he has had his hair cut, because cutting away the excess always reveals how much he has grown up. Suddenly, he looks more serious and wise. Possibly a little like a tiny accountant.

He loves it too – although he may be slightly confused about both the purpose and the potential end result of the exercise:

“I have my hair cut!” he kept telling me proudly on the way to the salon. “I have new curly hair.”

To be honest, I wouldn’t have put it past the hairdresser. Maybe next time.

14 responses

  1. That hairdresser sounds appalling! Our old hairdresser was a bit rubbish at cutting kids’ hair, but not as bad as that.
    The Girl’s hair looks amazing. My daughter was 2 before she had that much hair and my niece, who is only slightly younger than The Girl has, in my son’s words, ‘a little furry head’ – not enough to even describe it as hair!

    • Awww, a little furry head! That is so cute! Both mine have been quite hairy.

      We’ve tried a lot of different approaches to The Haircut, all quite successful, and we normally cycle round the good hairdressers depending on convenience and location at the time, but this is the first time we’ve hit a really duff one.

  2. I Love this post, it just shows how vital it is to have a good hairdresser!!! It is GREAT to have the chance to experiment with girly hairstyles too! The only slight downside is her habit of munching at most thing!!!

    • :) It is though, because we’ll just get it cut by someone who knows what they’re doing next time, and because she left it so long that won’t be too far into the future.

  3. this made me laugh! We’ve had a hairdresser who once cut hubby’s ear (thankfully pre-kids days so they weren’t put at risk). Once I had to send hubby back to get it cut a second time because you couldn’t tell it had even been cut! Haven’t had to get my toddlers hair cut yet (like you, i’m enjoying the clips and hairbands) and i used to do the boys haircuts myself until people started to comment – hmm! So that’s when i thought it best they go to hairdresser – thankfully one that does know what she’s doing. x

    • Eek! She actually cut an ear! Maybe this hairdresser wasn’t as paranoid as I thought, then. I have not dared take the kitchen scissors to my son’s hair, I have absolutely zero idea what I’m doing!

  4. This really had me chucking Judith, I think we can all relate to your hairdresser experience. I can never be honest either and leave the shop seething! Can I share this on my Friday Favourites this month?

  5. Oh inner Judith – you have spoken to my inner Elizabeth! I can relate to pretty much every line. My boy looks super grown up when he has his hair cut, and as for the Girl – well she is just adorable! I remember giving Roh the exact same exclamation mark hair style. It’s a rite of passage I believe! xxx

    • She is just in the adorably cute stage, where you could give her tiny dreadlocks and it would look cute (although also possibly be child abuse).

      Wish I could sometimes let the inner Judith out, but for now she just seems to be writing the blog…

Leave a Reply

