Game for a two year old and a five month old baby

Regular readers may have noticed I have started to post regularly on Mondays and Thursdays. I am adding this bonus post because I had to share this lovely moment:

The Toddler announced it was “picpic time”. I sat down next to him. He ceremoniously held his shopping basket with groceries on his lap.

“What are we going to eat?” I ask. “Can I have a green cabbage?”

Yes, yes, I know, not traditional picnic fare, but I panicked, okay?

“Plates, Mummy!” the Toddler said. I went to the kitchen and got three paper plates. “One for you, one for me and one for the Baby,” I said.

I got the Baby and sat her on my lap. She was first offered a plastic lemon, but it rolled onto the floor.

Then, the Toddler invented the Best Game Ever. He took his paper plate and started to go: “Flap flap flap!” I followed suit with my own. “Birds!” he laughed. The birds swooped and flew and bumped into each other with big theatrical bumps.

From my lap, I suddenly heard a new sound. It was giggling. I looked down to find that the Baby was watching the paper-plate-birds, enthralled, beaming – and laughing.

Magic.

“Look, the Baby is laughing! She likes your game!” I excitedly told the Toddler. “Let’s give her a plate and see if she wants to join in.” I held the third paper plate near her, and she dutifully grabbed it.

The Toddler snatched it back out of her hand and told me sternly: “Very little, Mummy.”

And that was the end of that.

Epilogue:

It occurred to me the next day that we could make an actual bird out of the plate.

paper plate bird2paper plate bird1
Made in a minute, yay!

8 responses

  1. awww how lovely is that! these are the moments we need to remember. there have been so many pass me by that i now treasure them when they come🙂

    Thanks for linking up with #magicmoments x

  2. Oh I love this post. So so much. What a wonderful first giggle – to see you and Toddler being birds, what a funny sight that must have been! I couldn’t help but smile and giggle too as I read it. Laughter really is infectious. xx

    • Thanks! So true, there is nothing like children giggling, so infectious. My son invented a game with the bath towel tonight and really cracked himself up with it until we were both weak laughing. It wasn’t even actually that funny but his giggles were just the best.

Leave a Reply

