A day late: Prose for Thought

Yesterday was World Poetry Day. I thought I’d honour it by joining in with Victoria Welton’s lovely initiative, Prose for Thought, and posting a poem I wrote this week for my little girl.

Intoxicating

You are asleep, and have been for hours
I have stolen some time away
exulting in a weekly shop at all-night Tesco
or a hot cup of tea at a friend’s.

Then I catch a hint of your scent on my clothes
milk and fabric softener
eczema cream
and just you.

what do I care about these moments of freedom?
in another hour I can hold you close
as you feed in your sleep
one small hand stretched up towards my face
and I’ll be wrapped in your smell and you in mine

(c) Judith Kingston

More poetry here.

Prose for Thought

8 responses

    • Thanks Helen! I’ve been reading your poetry and A Quiet Belief in Angels made me cry. My Toddler wanted to know: “Matter, Mummy?”

  1. You can really feel the love and comfort from this poem. Thank you so much for linking up with Prose For Thought – honoured to have two of your great posts linked up with my blog🙂 x

Leave a Reply

