Baby Led Weaning – a reality check

First of all: in case, like my uncle, you are not up with the jargon and thought Baby-Led Weaning had something to do with special tiny LED lamps, I thought I’d explain the concept a little. Veterans may wish to skip this bit.

Traditionally, babies make the change from being purely fed on milk to eating solid grown-up food by being spoon-fed tiny bits of flavourless mush, through various single-taste purees to slightly more chunky mashed up meals to eventually tucking into a roast dinner with the whole family. Baby-led weaning basically skips all the in between stages that require a blender and moves the baby straight from milk to the roast dinner – and whatever else is on the family menu.

blw

It’s not BLW unless you offer them crazy stuff like olives and artichokes.

The reasons:
1. You want them to learn to chew. Breastfeeding already involves a chewing motion, but spoonfeeding does not. Why get them to unlearn it only to learn it again later?
2. The cautious, gradual method with mush was developed back when babies were weaned a lot earlier. If you start at six months, a baby’s stomach should be ready for many different flavours and types of food. Developmentally, babies are also ready to feed themselves at this point: their main occupation, all day long, is picking things up, putting them in their mouths and chewing on them. You would think this is nature’s way of getting them ready for self-feeding.
3. Food should be fun. With traditional weaning, you often spend a lot of time persuading the baby to open wide and swallow something unfamiliar on trust. With baby-led weaning, meal times start off as play time and the baby is in control of what it wants to put in its mouth and whether to swallow it.

I am now in danger of rehashing the entire book I read on the subject so I will stop here. I posted a little while back on how it worked out with my son, and now that my daughter is three weeks into her adventures with food I thought I’d do a little update on how she is taking to BLW (as the cool kids call it).

After a slow start, where I was a bit disappointed at how little success she was having with grabbing anything off her high chair tray, she has really taken off in the past week. It has all worked out a bit differently to how I was expecting though.

I had expected to be much less anxious and helicoptery with child number 2, having seen my son go from coughing up his first bit of cheese to astounding the waiting staff in the Toby Carvery with his eating – but quite the contrary is the case. It has been so long now since we weaned him that I am at once incredulous at her lack of skills and worried that everything is too hard. I hover over her, put bits of cucumber back in her hand when they fall out, guide her cup and keep adjusting how she is sitting as soon as she starts listing over to one side.

Another marked difference to my son’s journey through weaning is that she is already consuming things. I mean: I can see it coming out the other end. She is eating. In fact, she seems to love it. Whereas breastfeeding is often accompanied by crying and pinching and complaints that the milk is too slow, no no too fast!, breakfast, lunch and dinner are met with smiles and silent, hungry nomming. It took my son at least a month before he swallowed anything. I remember it well: we were in a restaurant and he was barely peeping over the table. We gave him a bit of chicken to chew on and a few minutes later we realised it was gone. Not in the bib, not on the floor, it was just gone.

Why is my daughter swallowing food already? Well, baby-led weaners, I guess it’s confession time. Besides the officially approved finger foods that she chews on and spits out, she actually eats Weetabix, porridge and soup. From a spoon. Granted, she holds the spoon herself – but the food is mushy and easy to swallow, and she eats it off a spoon. Hard-core BLW-ers would frown on this. Runny foods are to be served with fruit or steamed vegetables to dip in them. I’m sorry, but to me that seems like avoiding spoons just for the sake of it.

I would like to submit to you for your approval a few BLW Reality Checks, to add as an addendum to an otherwise excellent notion:

1. We grown-ups eat food of all textures, including runny and mushy food, and we eat it with spoons. Your baby can still be in control – just load the spoon for her and let her hold it herself.
2. Babies at six months mayactually be hungry! They may actually want to start eating things. Nothing wrong with providing them with foods that they can easily swallow/digest besides all the other exciting stuff off your plate they might like to explore.
3. The assertion that you will not need to cook separately or differently for your weaning baby with this method, and that you can put your blender away, is not strictly true. There are so many things that we might eat on a daily basis that are not suitable for your baby because they are full of sugar, salt or other things that are best left until they are older, that you will end up doing speci

weetabix

Weetabix joy

al cooking anyway. With my son I tried lots of new recipes, I bought low salt stock cubes, I made him soup, baked special little pasties to fit his tiny hands – I have been known to puree fruit to put on toast as an alternative to jam. Yes, puree. But again: just as spoons are not inherently evil, neither is puree. Also, although your baby can eat at the same time as you, that is not always practical. He might be ready for dinner at 5pm, while your other half doesn’t get home until after bedtime and you would probably like to eat with him/her.
4. Finally, “baby-led” in itself is a little bit of a lie. Just a little bit. I mean, I’m still the one deciding what’s on the menu. She can’t very well send it back and say: “Actually, Mummy, today I would like to try the chicken and butternut squash risotto, hold the mushrooms, and I’ll have tiramisu for after.”

So there it is. Baby number 2 is loving food, but seems happiest on a joint Baby-and-Mummy-Led-Weaning regime. I’ll let you know when she swallows her first steamed vegetable!

13 responses

  1. I think it is so interesting that every child is different. There is not a one size fits all approach. And that it is best to follow your baby’s lead…literally. We had an interesting experience with baby-led weaning too. Out of the gate, my daughter was eating chunks, no gagging. Then, after a few months, she began to reject chunks of food and would only eat mashed food. That went on for awhile and, eventually, she went back to chunks.

    • I think you’re right and we should take our lead from our babies – but offer them the various options so they can have a go at everything. And surely that is in the spirit of BLW?

  2. I took parts of BLW and added spoons and pureed veg/dinner at the same time so he never got too hungry he got hysterical. i think its about what works best for everyone🙂 great post x

    • That is a lot like what I’m doing with my daughter. I’m trying to keep the pureed stuff “realistic”, so I plan everyone’s dinner to include something mushy if I can. Kind of in case the BLW police finds me.

  3. Grace started weaning at 4 months as she was always hungry! She took to it really well and seemed to enjoy food far more than milk. She chose to give up breast feeding at 9 months (much to my disappointment!). Thanks for linking this post up to PoCoLo and for your support xx

  4. Wow – I have just learned something. I always thought baby-led weaning just meant waiting until baby was ready for solids, I didn’t realise it meant skipping the ‘mushy’ stages and going straight to roast beef! I have tried (not always successfully and it was much easier second time round) to be baby-led (in my sense) with most things, such as potty training, and at present alphabet-learning!

    I had very different experiences with my son and daughter on the weaning front. My son was a much hungrier baby, couldn’t be bothered too much with the breast and happy to eat anything. My daughter, however, loved breast feeding – loved the cuddle and closeness – and has never been much interested in eating and is now a fussy eater.

    I wonder what might have happened if I had tried this approach with my daughter. Maybe she wouldn’t be as fussy as she is now?

    A fab thought-provoking post, thank you xx

    • Ah I am happy to have cleared that up for you!🙂 Don’t know if baby-led weaning would have sorted out the fussy eating, it could just be her. Like you say, maybe she was not keen on moving from eating = cuddling to DIY with cutlery.

  5. A really great post, I loved baby led weaning although we did have to give POD pureed food and milk in the beginning. I did get blueberry puree on the walls and ceiling at one point – was so tired I forgot to put the lid on the blender. Now POD is two she hoovers most foods🙂

    • Brilliant that she is a good eater now at 2. I’d kind of hoped that would be the effect with my son, but he’s been quite picky, despite having eaten anything and everything initially.

  6. This is a great post! I too did a bit of both, lots of finger food alongside purées and yogurt etc. My boys loved this and ate everything… The wee girl is a bit pickier and I would say her move from milk to food was a lot more ‘baby’ led than the boys were! It took months to get her to eat lumpy food from a spoon, and now she can largely do it herself, she’s happier🙂 Whatever works for baby!

    • There’s really no point trying to force them, is there? You can lead a child to the high chair but you can’t make them eat.

Leave a Reply

