A week in Nininand

It has been a busy week so far in Nininand and there is much to reflect on, but today I would like to give you a more visual impression of an Exceedingly Dutch Week.

In the month leading up to our visit, the Toddler put a sticker on a calendar every morning to count down to our departure. By the time we got to number 9, he was pretty solid on the concept of “tomorrow”, as evidenced by our bedtime conversations: “And tomorrow, number 9, and then 8, and then 7, and then 6, and then 5, and then 4, and then 3, and then 2, and then 1, and then: opa oma Nininand!”

count down calendar

Numbers on the calendar written by the Toddler himself, using a stencil set.

His very exciting new bed at Opa and Oma's house.

His very exciting new bed at Opa and Oma’s house.

He has surprisingly not once asked to watch Numberjacks, and has taken a liking to Dutch Mickey Mouse Clubhuis and Dutch Sesamestreet instead. This meant I could finally produce my 26 year old Sesamestreet colouring book for him. It soon derailed into “Mummy, seven?” Groan.

Everything is better with addednumbers.

Everything is better with added numbers.

Picking his own apples in the supermarket

Picking his own apples in the supermarket

Koffietijd (coffee time) - a Dutch institution. Toddler joins in with a beaker of milk.

Koffietijd (coffee time) – a Dutch institution. Toddler joins in with a beaker of milk.

Lego. Also 20 years old. Still awesome.

Lego. Also 20 years old. Still awesome.

Very Dutch Lego.

Very Dutch Lego.

Most Dutch houses have a built-in attachment for a flag pole, for festive occasions like the Queen’s (now the King’s) birthday, Liberation Day or someone in your house having passed their school exams. Or just because you are selling nice fish, as is the case in the picture below. Worth celebrating.

Flags. Because there are fish. Of course.

Flags. Because there are fish. Of course.

My parents have a dishwasher. Hurray!

My parents have a dishwasher. Hurray!

My Mum's list of what is in the fridge and freezer.

My Mum’s list of what is in the fridge and freezer.

Oma's slippers are a wonderful toy if you are 7 months old.

Oma’s slippers are a wonderful toy if you are 7 months old.

The Toddler's very own, mini supermarket, complete with miniature food you can sell to Opa for a cent or two.

The Toddler’s very own mini supermarket, complete with miniature food you can sell to Opa for a cent or two.

Learning the Dutch alphabet, in which P is for umbrella and S is for turtle. It's a whole other language, I tell you!

Learning the Dutch alphabet, in which P is for umbrella and S is for turtle. It’s a whole other language, I tell you!

They also slot into this cool bus.

They also slot into this cool bus.

I have done a lot of freelance work while I’ve been here. And a lot of writing of various sorts. I feel a little sad that I have barely spent time with my parents in the evenings as I have been staring at this very screen most of the time. I am starting to feel a bit like the Toddler when he sees me tip-tapping away on the laptop again: Nuff Puter!

Nuff puter, Mama.

Nuff puter, Mama.

Just a few more days and we will say goodbye to Nininand. What will the Toddler miss the most? Will it be Opa and Oma? Will it be Mickey Mouse Clubhouse? Will it be baking number biscuits? Will it be the Lego? Tune in next week to find out…

14 responses

  1. I want one of those mini supermarkets! I would have loved that when I was younger (pretty sure I would still love it). Your parents house looks lovely, it’s a shame you haven’t had so much free time but it’s nice that your work doesn’t prevent you visiting your family – hope you enjoy what remains of your holiday.

    • I think one of the great benefits of having kids is that you get to play with toys again and nobody objects (as long as they are in the room with you while you’re doing it of course). And I am very grateful that my work is so portable!

      • Absolutely, I’m hoping that Baby T and any siblings will be into Sylvanian families as I loved them as a child – if only I knew where they all were! It’s lovely that your parents have hung onto your lego and things, there’s something rather special and wholesome about your children playing with the same toys you had.

    • Wonderful! Glad to hear you like it – I like it more and more the longer I don’t live there… The bed is probably the first thing the Toddler mentions when asked about his trip. It has headlights and a spare tire and everything!

  2. I love this post so much. I’m really nosey about how people live in other countries – the day to day things, that might seem too normal to share, are often the most interesting. I think your mum might be proud of me, as I have a similar freezer list!!

    I’ve decided I would like a flag now – I told my husband and he just rolled his eyes! Maybe I have some Dutch blood somewhere in my family…

    Lovely interesting post xx

    • wow, you have a freezer list? I am in awe. Or do you do that instead of scrubbing the bath?πŸ˜‰ And yes, get a flag get a flag! We should make it a thing!

  3. Pingback: Just a little bit more | Secrets of the Sandpit

Leave a Reply

