Ode to Weetabix

Ode to Weetabix

Squatting, quietly contained in the bowl
These two woven wheaty biscuits
so innocent you look
but add milk
and mix
see
you stir
into a paste
more potent than cement
congealing in hair, on pyjamas
Weetabix, you glue our lives together.

(c) Judith Kingston, 2013

Linking up to Prose for Thought.

Prose for Thought

Also linking up to Shoulder to Shoulder Today, hoping this will cheer Emma a little.

Shoulder to Shoulder to Day

– See more at: http://www.3childrenandit.com/#sthash.zGM3XbMP.dpuf

26 responses

    • I think we should try one day. Then if you get bored of the house, you can just eat it and start again somewhere else.

  1. I thought it was hard to clean off of a bowl, then I gave Baby T his first baby-led-weaning-style go with it, a whole new world of fun! I remembered halfway through my shower that I had forgotten to clean the highchair tray, thankfully I got back to it before the stuff had set!🙂

    • Were you showering the get the Weetabix off yourself? Top tip: my mum puts the whole high chair under the shower after I’ve left, apparently.🙂

  2. Pingback: Virtual Birthday and Clip Show | Secrets of the Sandpit

    • I try to avoid it as well, although I have found that it doesn’t really matter what I serve for breakfast, whatever the girl is eating results in a need for a complete change of outfit.

Leave a Reply

