Ingredients for an Evening of Me-time

Being a Mum is quite a busy, social profession. Even trips to the toilet are usually not undertaken solo.

Just before the summer holidays, the lovely lady who runs a parenting group I attend gave us a sheet to fill in. On it were four periods of time: 1 minute, 5 minutes, half an hour and an hour or more. She asked us to write down in each box what we would do if we had this amount of time to ourselves. Often time to ourselves is unexpected and unplanned, and we end up frittering it away on frivolous activities like the washing up or tidying. She suggested we could make the most of our free moments by plotting in advance what we could do, and sticking the bit of paper on the fridge.

What would you do with 1, 5, 30 or many more minutes to yourself?

Ingredients for An Evening of Me-Time

Two knitting needles and 6 balls of
Debbie Bliss Cotton DK
in Little Red Riding Hood
red

A mug of cocoa
no matter the temperature
outside

Chocolate
and more chocolate:
type immaterial,
but lots.

A film
in which boy meets girl
and after much
witty dialogue
some misunderstandings
a few tears
and a moving speech
they kiss –
and the world
melts away
the pieces
fall into place
and life begins for
the only two people who matter.
(That’s them
and for that one brief moment
it is you,
too.)

Tissues,
to accompany
said film.

When you come home
I will be
asleep on the sofa
while the credits roll.
Take care to
kiss the chocolate
from my face
before you carry me
to bed.

(c) Judith Kingston, 2013.

Linking up to Prose for Thought.

Prose for Thought

17 responses

  1. We all need to find more time to ourselves and to use it wisely… I tend to dream up blogs with 1 minute, have a cup of peppermint tea with 5 and pedicure my feet with 30! But I might try and find 1,5 and 30 each day!

  2. What a good idea! I may well have a go at a boys version… beer instead of cocoa, curry instead of chocolate, action movie instead of chick flick for chocolate / action movie instead of chick-flick… Not sure what to replace the knitting needles with and ‘kiss the lamb danshak from my cheeks’ doesn’t have quite the same sense of romance, sadly😦

    • Haha no perhaps lamb dansak doesn’t quite cut it romance wise. Please please make a boys’ version!! And for the knitting needles: do you have a hobby that you can do in front of the TV? Play computer games on iPad/install new RAM on PC/build model aeroplane?

  3. That was a great idea about that sheet you filled it. I think I would just spend all that time on my laptop! Beautiful prose too, gave me a warm feeling inside.

    • Ha, most of the time I do actually fritter away on my laptop! I think the sheet itself might be slowly decomposing in the bottom of my changing bag, as so many other things are.

Leave a Reply

