Glowing with Pride: The Boy’s first Review

There are reasons why creative people are creative. We want to express ourselves, we want to share something with the world, we want to touch other people’s lives – and we love the satisfaction of standing next to what we have made and being proud of it. Positive feedback motivates us to carry on and do even better.

Yes, that is what I felt like standing next to my son – who I had some hand in shaping – as his keyworker at pre-school praised his awe inspiring academic abilities.

The Boy has been at pre-school for a term and a half now and last week was my first ‘review’ meeting with the teacher assigned to keep an eye on him. The idea was to share what they had observed of him and talk about what he could work on next.

I was prepared to hear that he was above average in his mathematical abilities. His teacher was amazed that he could tell you which number came before and after another number, that he could recognise at a glance that there were five objects on a table (2 or 3 is normal for his age, apparently) and that he recognises shapes and numbers in the world around him.

You barely know the half of it, I wanted to say.

I have bragged about this before and I am sure you are all rolling your eyes now, but even since my last post on the topic he has done more amazing things. He has started adding up, telling me at random moments (on the toilet) that 2 and 3 make 5 and that 6 and 3 make 9. Then the other day at about 6am we were playing with the Duplo, which somehow turned into a multiplication lesson. Before I knew where I was he was making towers of equal height, counting the number of towers and how many blocks that made in total. Also, on a trip into town with Daddy he pointed at the interestingly shaped paving and said: “It’s a hexagon! It has six corners and six sides!”

The teacher also reported he was well ahead on reading skills: he knows most of the sounds the letters make as well as the names of the letters.20140516-161442.jpg

Again, I could add more amazing feats: The Boy recognises all of the names of the other children in his class as well as his own when he sees them written down on labels around the school, as well as the names of all our favourite supermarkets on pots of jam and freezer bags. He has started recognising words in books and wanting to copy them with his letter puzzle.

Besides all this the teacher said the Boy was very musical, had amazing recall and picked things up very quickly.

What I wasn’t prepared for was his top astounding skill.

Apparently, most 3 or even 4 year olds don’t cut around things, just through them. Who knew? That same morning the Boy had been crying because he couldn’t perfectly cut around each petal of a flower and asked me to do the tricky bits where the scissors turn the corner. After the review I made sure the Boy knew how clever he was to even follow the petals at all.

So what does he need to work on? You’ll all be pleased to hear that socially and behaviourally the Boy is just your average 3 year old, who does as he is told for five seconds before testing out if the embargo on running indoors has been lifted yet. He has plenty to learn still at pre-school about being part of a group, respecting the rules and doing as he is asked.

While we talked, the Boy was helpfully stacking up all the little chairs, obviously getting straight on his action plan.

I looked at my bright little boy, bursting with pride. “Look what I made!” I was thinking. “Isn’t he great?”

 

Obviously, I am Loud n Proud… If you are too, link up! It’s not too late.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

3 Children and It

 

14 responses

  1. that is brilliant! He sounds just like my little boy when it comes to maths!!! (my boy is not so little now – he’s going to be 10 this year) but we remember clearly that at 18months old he could recognise and say all the numbers on his advent calendar, he was adding like your son is when he was at preschool, then started to randomly tell us things like 3 lots of 6 are 18 when he was in reception year. And yet, at school they used to tell us he was ‘average’ in maths. Thankfully he is now at a school where they have recognised that he is already at secondary school levels despite being only y5 of primary and have stretched him appropriately and so now he’s no longer bored at school all the behavioural issues have dissappeared and they call him a ‘dream pupil.’ So sorry I don’t have time to write a post to link up this week – but at least I got to share in my (rather long ) comment. Well done to your son and keep an eye on things when he gets to school to make sure they recognise his abilities. xxx

    • Oh wow, how great that you have found a school that recognises his abilities! That is my big fear, that he will get bored in school and that they won’t stretch him. I will make sure I keep a close eye on them when he gets to reception!

  2. Wow, that’s absolutely brilliant, no wonder you’re proud. To be doing multiplication and recognising other kids’ names at that age is incredible. The only thing about talented children is you don’t always realise how far ahead they are until you see other kids and the worry is always that they will become loners as nobody else is on their level. (I realise I’m now going to write a novel like Rebecca above…) Having already had one above average child, I knew from about 16 months just how intelligent my younger son was. At that time it was all about speech and reasoning. When he started school his reception teacher (who had been teaching a long time and was getting jaded) asked if there was anything she should know about him. When I told her he was exceptionally intelligent, she wasn’t happy. I think she’d rather I’d have said he wet his pants or had behavioural problems. She didn’t want parents ‘showing off’. Who was I to judge that my own child was gifted? All through the year she would treat us with disdain and say ‘we have other clever children too’ which I never denied, I just knew that my son was more clever than them. His talents were recognised in year 1 and since then he has always been pushed and challenged. We are lucky that there are other clever kids around him and that he never thinks he is better than anyone else. He has sport as well as academic work and are pleased that his intelligence has never been a hindrance to him – it has never made him behave badly and hasn’t put him off other children and them off him.
    I hope things turn out the same for your son. Being highly intelligent needs to be recognised by schools as much as special needs, but not all schools do. Good luck and enjoy the ride!

    • Good to hear your experiences – I will make sure I keep school informed when he starts reception. That was his teacher’s advice as well, she said they do a handover document but often teachers don’t have time to read them.

  3. Wow he sounds like a very little smart boy to me!! And it sounds like he has a gift when it comes to maths especially. He sounds like he really enjoys it too which is a huge bonus. You’re very right to be proud🙂

  4. Hey well done Mummy and well done the Boy. Clearly a clever chap just like his mummy. Someone once told me that often children who are mathematically minded are very likely to be musical too as it uses the same part of the brain! Who knew?! Very uplifting post Judith xxxx

    • Thank you, yes, maths and music are mysteriously linked it seems. I am saving up further details of his musical achievements for another week.🙂

  5. Well I am not at all surprised – you have a genius on your hands! Of course you’re proud and I love this analogy of us being proud of something we have created – what more excuse do we need?! Just for the record….I have high hopes for The Girl too. No pressure!

  6. Wow, that’s amazing stuff! No wonder you’re proud. Now all you need to worry about it keeping him challenged and amused amongst his peers. Cutting around things is leagues above my boy, he’s still struggling with cutting generally. But he IS great at spelling! They all have their strengths.

  7. Fantastic, J! No wonder he loves Numberjacks! And its great to have this linky to be able to shout out about these things, as parents with clever children (and I’m going to be boring and add my name to that list, though mine have never been that good at maths!!) often feel they have to hide this fact. I rarely ask anyone at school what reading book their child is on as i don’t want to embarrass them, and rightly so, but i wouldn’t be asking for that reason, just to get a sense of where my son or daughter is at. So i keep quiet. As Sarah and Becky said, watch out for him in years 2, esp, when boredom can turn to behavioural issues. And enjoy him!

Leave a Reply

