Not so secret racism

Sometimes certain political parties dare to darken my door with election leaflets. This is what I would say to them if I wasn’t afraid they’d come back later with more friends/big dogs/guns.

2011_04_09_G2826SassenheimNarcisTussenHyacinthen

I am still different

 

My form may conform
to the local norm
as I open the door to your leaflets
that spew forth your bile
against others and strangers,
that warn of the dangers
of letting us in.
I know that within
I’m what you think is so vile
so I smile.

You see,

With malicious glee
I do all those things you’d expect from me.

I take your jobs
and I live in your houses
I sit in your queue for your A&E
I use your library,
Take up space on your bus
I even vote for my local MP

I say “We”.

I watch your news

I stand in your queues
My car appears in your Google Street Views.

I’m using your water
I’m breathing your air
Flush my wee through your sewers
Your pipes are clogged with my hair

best of all:

I made children
bilingual half breeds
growing like weeds
spreading my seeds
my foreign ideas
shooting roots over years
until decades from now
you will look around
and find Britain has changed
is no longer the same
because I changed my name
and staked a claim
on your country, your land.

I’m sure you’ll understand
I’m sure you’ll forgive
You’ll live and let live
Because you don’t need to fight
someone like me, you’d say –
I am okay, I can stay:

I am white.

(c) Judith Kingston, 2014

 

You can hear me read this at Stephanie Arsoska’s Virtual Open Mic Night.

14 responses

  1. I love the line ‘your pipes are clogged with my hair’ it’s just so raw. And an image in reverse that such people might say about immigrants…clogging the system. Great use of words and a poem the Daily Fail might like to read. Or not.

    Great to see you at Open Mic Night x

  2. Hi Judith. This comment is way overdue but I just wanted to tell you how much I LOVED this poem from when I read it in your email ahead of the open mic night (which I wasn’t able to join properly!).

    The imagery is so powerful and you don’t waste a single word. I think my favourite line (although I love it all) is:

    I say “We”.

    Just. Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

